top of page

Bighorn Ward 1 Residents Elect Fitzmorris in Tuesday By-Election

Steve Fitzmorris emerged triumphant in the Municipal District of Bighorn Alberta Ward 1 By-Election Tuesday Night.

Fitzmorris secured 99 votes, surpassing his only challenger, Robin Bushulak, who garnered 55 votes.

Fitzmorris will step into the role previously occupied by Joss Elford, a first-term councillor who resigned earlier this spring. Elford's departure left a void in the local leadership that Fitzmorris now has the opportunity to fill.

The newly elected councillor will be sworn in after the results of the by-election become official on September 23rd.

Ftizmorris joins Councillor Jen Smith (Ward 1), Reeve Lisa Rosvold (Ward 2), Councillor Alice James (Ward 3) and Deputy Reeve Rick Tuza (Ward 4) in steering the rural community.

This is the MD of Bighorn's second by-election since the last municipal election in October 2021.


bottom of page