top of page

New Brunswick Liberals to select new leader on August 6th

The Official Opposition in New Brunswick will elect their next leader on August 6th, after almost two years without a permanent leader.

New Brunswick Liberals announced that a new leader will be chosen in a leadership election that will take place at the Fredricton Convention Centre.

Along with the date at time of election, the New Brunswick Liberals released the rules that will govern the leadership election. Including a $30,000 non-refundable nomination fee. Candidates wishing to run for the leadership will have until May 2nd, 2022 to submit their paperwork and fees.

The leadership election will be conducted on a riding points/preferential ballot. Each of 49 provincial ridings will be allocated 100 points.

The successful leadership winner will need 50% + 1 to win the election, or 2451 points.

Candidates will only be allowed to spend a maximum of $250,000 during 5 month campaign.

To date there are only 5 candidates who have announced their intention to stand for the leadership.

Former MLA Donald Arseneault, New Brunswick Business Man Seamus Byrne, MLA Robert Gavin, Former MP T.J Harvey, and Former Aide to Premier Brian Gallant Susan Holt have announced their intentions to stand.

Former Liberal leader Kevin Vickers announced his resignation from the top job on September 14th, 2020 after failing to win a seat in the last provincial election.

Candidate Photo

Candidate Name

Donald Arseneault

Seamus Bryne

Robert Gauvin

T.J Harvey

Susan Holt


Best Value

One Time Trial



Valid for one month

Bronze Membership



Every month

bottom of page