top of page

Zacharias takes Nipawin Mayoral By-Election

The Town of Nipawin, Saskatchewan has a new Mayor.

On Wednesday voters of the small town in Saskatchewan went to the polls to elect a new mayor after former Mayor Rennie Harper stepped down over the summer.

Marion Zacharias won the by-election with over 50 percent of the votes cast. Zacharias beat out two other candidates to become the new mayor of the community. The other two candidates were Brian Starkell, and Laura Nycholat.

Zacharias garnered 540 votes, while Starkell garnered 456 votes, while Nycholat garnered 72 votes.

On social media, Zacharias thanks the people of the community for their support, "Thank you Nipawin for your support in this election! The unofficial results are in... I look forward to bringing my plan for growth to the council and the people!"

The by-election brought out only 29.30% of the eligible voters in the community.

Zacharias will lead a council which includes, Councillors Sheldon Chornawka, Geoff Stewart, Jan Boughen, Bruce Pihowich, Sheila Seiferling, and Stacey Vik.


bottom of page