top of page

3 Canadian Mayors in the Running for Worlds Mayor

Montreal Mayor Valerie Plante (Left) , Laval Mayor Stephane Boyer (Centre) , and Dover Mayor Tony Keats (Right)

Three prominent Canadian mayors who have made significant contributions to their communities are in the running to be the new Worlds Mayor.

Montreal Mayor Valerie Plante, Laval Mayor Stephane Boyer, and Dover Mayor Tony Keats have all been recognized for their exceptional leadership and commitment to their cities.

The City Mayors Foundation has unveiled the longlist of mayors nominated for this esteemed global recognition. A total of 92 mayors hailing from 40 different countries have been nominated for their exceptional leadership and dedication to their respective cities. The winners of the 2023 World Mayor Prize and Awards will be announced later this year.

Mayor Valerie Plante has been serving as the Mayor of Montreal, Quebec since 2017. Mayor Stephane Boyer took office in 2021 as the Mayor of Laval, Quebec, and has already made a significant impact on the city. Dover, Newfoundland and Labrador Mayor Tony Keats, with an impressive tenure in office since 1996, has been recognized for his steadfast dedication to his community.

The World Mayor Prize and Awards, organized by the City Mayors Foundation, aims to honour mayors who have served their cities with integrity, courage, and imagination. The prestigious accolades recognize mayors who have worked tirelessly for the betterment of their communities, transcending barriers of race, gender, religion, politics, and legal status.

In addition to the World Mayor Prize, this year, the City Mayors Foundation will introduce the World Mayor Friendship Prize. This special honour will be bestowed upon a mayor and their city that have demonstrated exceptional efforts in fostering friendship, partnership, and cooperation between towns and cities, both domestically and internationally.

The City Mayors Foundation has been presenting the World Mayor Prize and Awards every two years since 2004, showcasing the exceptional work of mayors worldwide. Past Canadian winners include Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi, who claimed the title of World's Mayor in 2014, and former Mississauga Mayor Hazel McCallion, who was the runner-up in 2005 to Athens, Greece Mayor Dora Bakoyannis.

Voting for the 2023 World Mayor Prize and Awards is now open, and citizens from around the globe can show their support for their favourite nominee by visiting the official support page at

The winners will be announced towards the end of this year.


bottom of page