top of page

City of Calgary Accepting entries now for W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

Photo Credit City of Calgary

Entries are now being accepted for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.

This prestigious prize is one of the awards given as part of The Calgary Awards, which recognizes outstanding achievements and contributions by individuals and organizations in the community.

The Book Prize is awarded in honour of acclaimed Calgary writer W.O. Mitchell and recognizes literary achievement by Calgary authors. Established in 1996, the Book Prize is coordinated through a partnership between The City of Calgary and the Writers' Guild of Alberta. The winning author will receive a $5,000 cash prize.

The main eligibility criteria are as follows:

  • The book's publication date must be in 2021.

  • The author must have lived in Calgary for a minimum of two years, as of Dec. 31, 2021.

  • The following types of writing are eligible: fiction, poetry, non-fiction, children's literature, drama and self-published works.

The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31, 2021.

The book prize recipient will be announced at The Calgary Awards in June 2022. In 2021 the recipient was Alexandra Latos for her book, Under Shifting Stars.

Additional eligibility criteria and submission guidelines for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize is available at or at


bottom of page