top of page

Bushie in as Manitoba's Minister of Municipal and Northern Relations

Ian Bushie, Manitoba's Minister of Municipal and Northern Relations, along with the Minister of Indigenous Economic Development (Photo Ian Bushie Facebook)

Keewatinook MLA Ian Bushie's was named as the new Minister of Municipal and Northern Relations, along with the Minister of Indigenous Economic Development by Premier Wab Kinew this morning.

As the gathering celebrated the formation of the new cabinet under the leadership of Premier Kinew, Ian Bushie's impassioned declaration echoed through the chamber. "Also standing here as a proud Anishinaabe from the Hollow Water First Nations," Bushie proclaimed, emphasizing the significance of his Indigenous heritage and its integral role in shaping his commitment to public service.

Bushie's impressive background, as outlined in his bio on the Manitoba NDP website, underscores a rich tapestry of experiences that have equipped him for this critical role. A respected member and former Chief of the Hollow Water First Nation, Bushie has been representing the Keewatinook constituency within the Manitoba Legislature since 2019.

The riding was previously held by former MLA Judy Klassen from 2016 to 2019.

During his time in office, Bushie has served as the NDP's Critic for Transportation and Infrastructure, along with his tenure as the Deputy House Leader.

Association of Manitoba Municipalities React to Appointment

Moments after the new cabinet was sworn in, the AMM released a statement on social media congratulating the new Premier and new cabinet, "The AMM congratulates Premier Wab Kinew, the Hon. Ian Bushie, Manitoba's new Minister of Municipal Relations, and the entire provincial Cabinet on being sworn in today. We are looking forward to working closely with you and your departments to grow Manitoba."

The full list of newly appointed cabinet minister:

  • Wab Kinew (MLA for Fort Rouge) – premier, minister of intergovernmental affairs and international relations, minister responsible for Indigenous reconciliation;

  • Uzoma Asagwara (MLA for Union Station) – deputy premier, minister of health, seniors and long-term care;

  • Ron Kostyshyn (MLA for Dauphin) – minister of agriculture;

  • Matt Wiebe (MLA for Concordia) – minister of justice and attorney general, keeper of the great seal of the province of Manitoba, minister responsible for the Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation;

  • Nahanni Fontaine (MLA for St. Johns) – minister of families, minister responsible for accessibility, minister responsible for gender equity;

  • Bernadette Smith (MLA for Point Douglas) – minister of housing, addictions and homelessness, and minister responsible for mental health;

  • Nello Altomare (MLA for Transcona) – minister of education and early childhood learning;

  • Ian Bushie (MLA for Keewatinook) – minister of municipal and northern relations, and minister of Indigenous economic development;

  • Malaya Marcelino (MLA for Notre Dame) – minister of labour and immigration, and minister responsible for the Workers Compensation Board;

  • Jamie Moses (MLA for St. Vital) – minister of economic development, investment, trade and natural resources;

  • Lisa Naylor (MLA for Wolseley) – minister of transportation and infrastructure, minister of consumer protection and government services;

  • Adrien Sala (MLA for St. James) – minister of finance, minister responsible for the Public Utilities Board, minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro, minister responsible for the Manitoba public service;

  • Renée Cable (MLA for Southdale) – minister of advanced education and training;

  • Tracy Schmidt (MLA for Rossmere) – minister of environment and climate change, minister responsible for Efficiency Manitoba; and

  • Glen Simard (MLA for Brandon East) – minister of sport, culture, heritage and tourism, minister responsible for francophone affairs, minister responsible for the Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Corporation.

This story has been updated with new information from when it was originally posted.


bottom of page