top of page

NB Liberals still dont have a permanent leader, 18 months since last election

The New Brunswick Liberals have still not called their leadership race, and are now according to recent polls leading in the Atlantic province.

Kevin Vickers the former Liberal Leader announced his resignation from the party after failing to win a seat in the 2020 Provincial election, since then Roger Melanson the MLA for Dieppe has been helming the party.

Melanson was the former Liberal Finance Minister in the province.

While the liberals have still not called the leadership race, Former federal MP for Tobique Mactaquac T.J Harvey is to date the only candidate who has announced a leadership bid.

There are two considering a run for the leadership according to news reports from the province, MLA Jacques Joseph LeBlanc, and former MP for Fredericton Matt DeCourcey.

DeCourcey and Harvey both were elected MP's in 2015, Harvey didn't run for re-election in 2019, while DeCourcey was defeated by then Green Party candidate, Now Liberal MP, Jenica Atwin

While speculations is that the Party will hold the race in 2022, there's no date set and no rules in place for the leadership race.

New Brunswickers are not expected to head back to the polls until October of 2024.

bottom of page