top of page

Ontario PC MPP's Kramp, McKenna & Walker announce retirement

The weekend before Family Day got a bit tough for the governing Ontario Progressive Conservatives, as two more backbencher, and deputy speaker of the legislative assembly has announced their departure for politics.

The Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP) for Hastings—Lennox and Addington (Darryl Kramp), MPP for Burlington (Jane McKenna) and MPP for Bruce—Grey—Owen Sound (Bill Walker) have all announced that they would be not seeking election in June.

Kramp who announced in December that he was battling cancer said that he would not be putting his name forward in the June election.

McKenna, who has served 8 years at Queens Park said in a statement, "'It has been an honour and a privilege to serve the people of Burlington for two-terms at Queen's Park," McKenna said. ''I want to thank Premier Ford for the opportunity to serve in his Cabinet, and for always encouraging members of our PC Caucus to represent the views of our constituents within government."

Walker said in a prepared statement that it was an hour to serve the people, "Today, having dedicated the past 10 years of my life to be the MPP for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound and with mixed emotions, I am officially announcing that I will not be seeking re-election in the June 2022 Provincial Election.

"Serving as the MPP (Member of Provincial Parliament) has truly been an honour for the past decade and I am proud of what my team, and my colleagues have been able to accomplish over this time. I remain a strong supporter of Premier Ford, the Government and their vision for the Province," he added.

The party released a statement shortly after the flood of announcements, "We thank MPP's Daryl Kramp, Bill Walker and Jane McKenna for their years of service and dedication in supporting their constituents as well as the Ontario PC Party"

This brings the total number of PC MPP's retiring or not seeking re-election up to 11, 3 NDP MPP's have announced they would not be seeking re-election while1 lone liberal has announced. 2 former PC MPP's, who were kicked from caucus, have announced their intentions to step down.

The next general election in June 2nd, 2022.


bottom of page