top of page

OPINION: Who Runs Alberta? After Last Night, Women!

Albertans went to the polls, and made some major changes across the province. One of the biggest winner last night was women.

While results are still coming in, Women are expected to helm more Mayor chairs in the province of Alberta than ever before.

At 8:30 this evening, close to two Million albertans will be represented by women municipally.

Here in Calgary, Dr. Jyoti Gondek current incumbent Ward 3 councillor will be the first woman in Calgary's history to lead the city. She defeated her closest opponent Jeromy Farkas (Ward 11 Incumbent).

Gondek will lead one of the most diverse councils in Calgary's 137 years. 4 women were elected as councillors last night as well. Ward 1 - Sonya Sharp, Ward 2 - Jennifer Wyness, Ward 3 - Jasmine Mian, and Ward 11 - Kourtney Branagan will be with Mayor-Elect Gondek steering the city through the post pandemic world.

Elsewhere across the province, Tanya Thorn Town of Okotoks Councillor was declared the Mayor-Elect for the Town of Okotoks. Thorn faced off against two challengers. The former Mayor had recently passed away.

In the Town of Olds, Judy Dahl defeated incumbent Mayor Michael Muzychka in his bid for re-election. Dahl is returning to the Mayors chair after what she says was encouragement from the people fo Olds to run again.

Up north of Calgary, Jean Barclay incumbent town councillor for Innisfail won last night the top job in the Town of Innisfail. She bested her closes challenger by over 50 per cent.

In the Southeast corner of the Province, Incumbent Mayor Ted Clugston of Medicine Hat was kicked out of office last night by Challenger Linnisie Clark. Clark will lead the City of Medicine Hat. Women will also represent 6/9 seats in Medicine Hat after Monday nights vote.

In Drumheller, Fort Saskatchewan, Grande Priarie and St. Albert, the Mayors cruised to victory last night, Mayor Heather Colberg, Mayor Gale Katchur, Mayor Jackie Clayton and Mayor Cathy Heron will be back in the Mayors Chair.

In Banff, Mayor-elect Corrie Dimanno will helm the leadership of the tourist community after the departure of her predecessor Senator Karen Sorenson.

The glass ceiling has broke, and Albertans should be proud of what happened monday night.

While the celebrations still continue the real work start monday morning as councils and councillors begin to get down to work.



bottom of page