top of page

Saskatchewan Five Chair Positions on FCM Board Filled

The upcoming annual conference of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) is set to take place in Toronto from May 25th to May 28th.

During the three-day event, a new board will be elected to guide the organization through the coming year, with each province selecting board members to represent their municipalities.

This election holds the promise of shaping the future of municipal governance and ensuring diverse voices from across the provinces are heard at the federal level. In Saskatchewan, the municipal landscape on the FCM Board is expected to somewhat resemble the previous year, as all five seats representing the province have no challengers.

Saskatchewan will witness the addition of one fresh face to the federal board. Councillor Bob Hawkins, from the City of Regina is poised to represent one of the two board positions from either the City of Regina, the City of Saskatoon or the City of Prince Albert.

Serving alongside Hawkins will be City of Saskatoon Councillor Mairin Lowen.

Outside of the two major cities, only one candidate stepped forward, former guest of the Cross Border Interviews, Village of Torquay Mayor Mike Strachan.

The remaining two positions will be occupied by members from FCM's provincial organizations in Saskatchewan: the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association and the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities. SUMA President Randy Goulden and SARM President Ray Orb will continue to serve on the Federal board.

As the sole representative body for municipalities across Canada, the FCM's Board of Directors will play a crucial role in amplifying local voices and addressing the unique challenges faced by communities nationwide.


Best Value

One Time Trial



Valid for one month

Bronze Membership



Every month

bottom of page