top of page

WestJet slams Trudeau Government over new air travel advisory

Hours after the Canadian Government announced the introduction of air travel advisory for the upcoming holiday season, West Jet slammed the government for the setback.

Harry Taylor, WestJet President and CEO said that Air travel is the most tested and protected consumer activity in Canada, "Every person travelling internationally is tested on average twice throughout their travel journey,

"As the only fully-vaccinated air travel sector in the world, WestJet is calling on the government to publicly share the travel related COVID-19 data that has been used to re-impose the advisory and advice targeted towards fully-vaccinated Canadians and the travel and tourism industry," Taylor added.

International travel standards and policies should be harmonized, yet Canada's travel measures remain firmly out of step with border policies enacted across the European Union, the United Kingdom and the United States, West Jet stated in a press release.

The Canadian Government announced on December 15th that they would be advising Canadians to avoid non-essential travel outside of Canada at this time.

“I will say it again: now is not the time to travel,” said Canadian Health Minister jean-Yves Duclos.

Taylor said in response to the Health Ministers announcement, "Travel bans, restrictions and blanket advisories are devastating to the continued economic recovery of our country and place tens of thousands of recently recalled Canadian travel and tourism jobs at risk. We are very concerned today's announcement will create unnecessary disruption and chaos in advance of the holiday travel season."

As another layer of precaution, The Canadian Government announced the reinstatement of the requirement for a pre-arrival negative PCR test result for all travellers leaving the country for less than 72 hours. As of December 21, the requirement for pre-arrival testing will be in place again for trips of all durations.

The Canadian Government is also ending of the additional measures for travellers returning from South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt, the policy will be lifted at midnight tonight (December 18th).


bottom of page