top of page

28th Annual Calgary Awards Nominations Now Open

The City of Calgary is looking for the best of the best.

Nominations for the 28th Annual Calgary Awards are now open, with nominations closing on February 9th.

Each year nominations are received for 13 awards including The Community Achievement Awards, which includes subgroup of nominations including the Grant MacEwan Lifetime Achievement, Citizen of the Year, Arts, Commerce, Community Advocate (individual and organization), Education, Heritage, and Youth.

Categories also include The Environmental Achievement Award, The International Achievement Award, The Award for Accessibility, and The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize (deadline was Dec. 31, 2021).

Nominations can be submitted here.

To be eligible for an award one must meet all the following requirements ( exception will be granted for some of the award categories).

  • Individual nominees must be residents of Calgary (permanent address in Calgary) for two years as of December 31, 2021. Exception: The International Achievement Award.

  • Groups, organizations or corporations must be Calgary-based or a local branch of a national or international organization.

  • Recipients are not eligible to receive an award within five years of having received an award for the same achievement in any category. Exception: The W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

  • Nominees may only be nominated for one award in a given year.

  • Nominees must not currently hold political office. Exception: The W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.

  • Current and former City of Calgary employees or elected officials are not eligible for a Calgary Award for their work as a City employee or elected official. Similarly, City business units and City projects are not eligible for a Calgary Award.

  • Self-nominations for individuals require at least one letter of reference. Not required for organizations who self-nominate.


bottom of page