top of page

PEI Governing PC's pick up another seat in last nights byelection

Dennis King has something to smile about after last nights byelection in District 16 Cornwall-Meadowbank.

The PEI Premier picked up a seat in the legislature after Mark McLane won the byelection in

the riding for the governing PEI Progressive Conservatives.

The riding was considered a safe Liberal seat, but McLane won over Liberal challenger Jane MacIsaac.

Premier King said at the election night victory rally, "This is a vote for Mark McLane, this is a vote for our government but this is also a vote for a different style of politics, for positivity, for working together, for collaborating and by going high when others go low, and they tried hard to go low."

The byelection was called because Liberal MLA, and former Minister, Heath McDonald won in the last federal election.

District 16 has not voted for the PC's since the 1985 election where Gordon Lank last won.

MacDonald has been the MLA for District 16 Cornwall-Meadowbank since the election in 2015.

The win in District 16 Cornwall-Meadowbank, gives the governing Progressive Conservatives a two seat Majority in the P.E.I Legislature. The Green Opposition sits at 8 seats, and the Liberals are down two seats since the 2019 PEI election where the Liberals were swept from power after 12 years in government.

The Prince Edward Island Liberal Party has been without a permeant leader since 2019 when former Premier and Liberal leader Wade MacLauchlan stepped down. A leadership election was to take place this month but was postponed earlier in September.


bottom of page