top of page

Ten Candidates Fall Short In Bid For Re-election

While the Ontario Progressive Conservatives relatively came out of the election unscathed. One Progressive Conservative failed in his bid for re-election Thursday Night.

Jeremy Roberts the Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP) for Ottawa West - Nepean came up short in his bid for re-election on Thursday. Roberts was the only sitting PC MPP at time of dissolution that failed to win their seat back.

Roberts posted to social meida the morning after the results congratulation the NDP winner in the riding, " While it wasn’t the result we wanted in Ottawa West - Nepean, I’d like to thank all of my supporters and friends who have been with me on this journey. It’s been a remarkable four years!

"Wishing newly elected MPP Chandra Pasma all the best as she takes on this role."

This election was a rematch of the 2018 general election where Roberts came out on top by 176 votes. In Thursday's election, Pasma beat Roberts by over 900 votes.


Five NDP MPP's lost their bids for re-election on Thursday. Mostly coming from the 416 and GTA area.

Former Deputy Leader Sara Singh lost her bid for re-election in the riding of Brampton Centre to her PC Challenger.

In Brampton East, Gurratan Singh - the brother of federal NDP leader Jagmeet Singh - was defeated his attempt to win his seat back for the Ontario NDP. Singh lost to the PC Challenger.

In York South - Weston Faisal Hassan the Ontario NDP MPP since 2018 lost his chance to return to Queens Park. Hassan was bested by Michael Ford, who is the nephew of current PC Leader and Premier Doug Ford.

Prior to entering provincial politics, Ford was a sitting Toronto Councillor.

In the North, Longterm Ontario NDP MPP Gilles Bisson - who has held his seat since 1990 - lost his bid for re-election. Bisson suffered a loss at the hands of the PC Party. Bisson won 8 consecutive elections, ran for the leadership of the party leadership against Andrea Horwath in 2009.

The last NDP MPP who failed to win re-election is Judith Monteith-Farrell who represented the riding of Thunder Bay-Atikokan. Monteith-Farrell was defeated by her PC challenger in the Thunder Bay Riding.


The lone liberal who suffered a defeat in the 2022 Ontario Election, was Amanda Simard. Simard was first elected as a PC in 2018, but left the Ontario PC's over their handling of the francophone affairs file.

Simard sat as an Independent before joining the Ontario Liberals in 2020. Stephane Sarrazin the Progressive Conservative Candidate beat Simard in the riding of Glengarry-Prescott-Russell.


Paul Miller the MPP for Hamilton East - Stoney Creek who sat with the Ontario NDP until March 2022, when he was turfed by the Party ran for re-election as an independent. Miller failed to win. The riding of Hamilton East - Stoney Creek was poached by the Ontario PC's. MPP-elect Neil Lumsden was a former Hamilton Tigercat football player from 1978-1979.

The lone Ontario Party MPP Rick Nicholls who ran for re-election in the riding of Chatham-Kent-Leamington placed a distant third place. He garnered only 14.8% of the vote. Trevor Jones the Progressive Conservative candidate defeated the Ontario Party MPP.

New Blue Party only MPP Belinda Karahalios was turfed from office in her riding of Cambridge. Karahalios was turfed from the governing PC's over her objection to their handling of the COVID-19 mandates. She along with her husband started the New Blue Party.

In Cambridge, she places fourth out of five candidates. She was defeated by now MPP-elect Brian Riddell.

The Progressive Conservatives won 83 seats, the Ontario NDP won 31 seats, the Ontario Liberals won 8, the Green Party of Ontario won 1, and 1 Independent was elected.


bottom of page