top of page

Sloan leads Ontario Party into Ontario General Election

Former Member of Parliament for Hastings Lennox and Addington Derek Sloan is trying another shot at politics.

Sloan who was elected federally in 2019 in the riding of Hastings Lennox and Addington (Ontario), and defeated in 2021 in Banff-Airdire (Alberta) was selected as the next leader of the Ontario Party.

The Ontario Party started in the 2018 provincial election and ran a handful of candidates.

The former Conservative turned Independent MP, said in a press release that freedom fighters now had a political party that will represent their values, "For the past several weeks, I have been in discussions with principled freedom-fighters and pro-family advocates throughout the province.

"Finally, we are starting to come together in one place: the Ontario Party," he added.

Sloan said there needs to be an alternative to the left leaning parties, including the governing Progressive Conservatives, "There is a tremendous desire on the part of social conservatives, libertarians, and defenders of freedom in Ontario for there to be an alternative."

Within two days of the news Sloan was selected as the new leader of the Ontario Party, Chatham-Kent-Leamington Independent Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP) Rick Nicholls - who was elected as an PC MPP - announced his support for the Ontario Party and the Leadership of Derek Sloan.

"Derek Sloan is a principled and resilient man who passionately believes in individual rights and liberties, and who has been fighting tirelessly for them at great personal cost. He recognizes the threat of creeping tyranny that has used the crisis of the past two years to undermine the foundations upon which our great country is built," Nicholls said in a press release.

Nicholls said that he has become concerned about the undemocratic turn politics has taken of late in Ontario, and he sees Sloan and the Ontario Party as the right choice to correct the problem.

"Derek Sloan is the right man at the right time. I strongly support the Ontario Party," he added.

The next Ontario Election is expected to take place on June 2nd, 2022.

There are currently 69 Progressive Conservative MPP's, 40 Ontario New Democratic MPP's, 7 Ontario Liberal MPP's, 5 independent MPP's, 1 Green MPP, and 1 New Blue MPP.


bottom of page